Join SMT

Any Pennsylvania borough, township, home rule community, municipal authority, and third-class city with a council-manager government may be considered for SMT membership if located in one of the following counties: Adams, Berks, Bradford, Bucks, Carbon, Centre, Chester, Clinton, Columbia, Cumberland, Dauphin, Franklin, Fulton, Lackawanna, Lancaster, Lebanon, Lehigh, Luzerne, Lycoming, Mifflin, Monroe, Montgomery, Montour, Northampton, Northumberland, Perry, Pike, Schuylkill, Snyder, Sullivan, Susquehanna, Tioga, Union, Wayne, Wyoming, and York.
Potential members will be requested to submit the following information accompanying a membership application for an underwriting review: construction-workers
    • Total current payroll by class code.
    • Loss runs for the previous five years.
    • Experience Modification Factor for the previous five years.
    • Average loss ratio the previous five years.
    • Most recent audited financial statements.
    • Demonstrated leadership, responsible & competent management, and a commitment to workplace safety and loss control.
    • A membership application signed by an authorized staff member.

Decisions regarding membership approval are made solely by the SMT Board of Trustees upon consultation with the Trust Administrator and reinsurance carrier.  A membership application and accompanying information is to be submitted to the SMT Executive Director at least forty-five (45) days prior to the requested effective date of coverage.